A Fortnight of BANGERZ: Miley Cyrus, “Adore You”

(source)

If you haven’t yet heard that Miley Cyrus, Queen of the Modern Pop Universe, released her new album Bangerz this Tuesday, then you must have been living under all the rocks. Her crazy antics have been absolutely plastered (much like her) all over the internet and most of the physical world, including this guy:

(source)

Bangerz immediately reached #1 in 70 countries, solidifying the fact that it is now Miley’s time to shine, twerk, bump, grind, and what-have-you.

If you know me in real life and somehow know my deepest secret, then you know I am madly in love with Miley. For a good chunk of my teen years I watched Hannah Montana when no one was around and spent much of my free time learning the words (and maybe even dances) to such hits as “Nobody’s Perfect” and “Hoedown Throwdown.” Do you wish we hung out in high school now? Don’t answer that. I’ve been with her through all the ups and downs and although I was a little confused at some points I’m so damn happy that she’s finally made it.

In order to commemorate the release of Bangerz and my true love of Miss Milers, I will be giving you “A Fortnight of Bangerz.” That’s right – every day for the next two weeks I will be bringing you a new song from the album along with my professional, highly-esteemed opinion. This will culminate in a final review of the album as a whole, which will thusly shape your opinion because of said esteem (/s). In all seriousness, what you’ll find is my honest-to-goodness opinions of every song. While I do love Miley, that doesn’t mean I love all her music and you don’t have to worry about any bias here (unless it’s about Miley’s hair because YOU CAN JUST LEAVE YOU IF YOU DON’T LIKE IT.) Ahem.

Today’s ditty is Track #1 off Bangerz, the ethereal-yet-digital ballad “Adore You.”

Now THIS is what I’m talking about. Right off the bat, Miley showcases her fantastic vocals. Much like Justin Bieber, people have written her off as a one-of-a-million pop star and lumped her into the auto-tune generation because of her background (“famous” Dad, Disney star, etc.). While I’m not going to pretend there’s no auto-tune in this album, this song is one of many that shows off her genuine emotional vocal range. You can feel her yearning as she chants, “No, I need you more. I adore you.” You have to wonder if this song is about falling in love with Liam or just a generic “boy.” (Though the fact that Miley isn’t credited as a writer really makes you wonder.)

Or maybe Justin Gaston?

(source)

Probably Jake Ryan.

(source)

Both viable options. Definitely more so than Liam.

Either way, Miley’s heartache is right there on her sleeve as she calmly riffs each line. The slow, floating music adds a dash of empathy and a sprinkle of No Doubt – that’s right, I just compared Miley to a group of professional badasses who defined the 90s ska-punk/new-wave movement. Even if you don’t want to accept it, Miley has absolutely killer pipes and an ear for a great tune – there’s no doubt she’ll be around the pop charts for a long time (pun not intended but I feel like I should say it was for good looks). “Adore You” is a fantastic intro to Bangerz – it lets you easily and comfortably slide in to the new Miley Cyrus as you let go of those late night Hannah Montana memories.

Check back tomorrow for a review of the unmatchable hit and Bangerz Track 2, “We Can’t Stop.”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment